Spring has arrived “with a laugh and a shout”

“The spring came suddenly, bursting upon the world as a child bursts into a room, with a laugh and a shout and hands full of flowers.” ~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

I have been reading posts from my northern friends, seeing happy signs of spring after a long and cold winter.  Since it’s already getting into the 90s here in Houston and approaching the time of year when I can’t go outside much, I was envious of them and I was thinking I wouldn’t get to experience first-hand that excited feeling of new sprouts emerging from dormancy.  BUT…

… our Agapanthus is about to bloom! Out of maybe 20 of these, 3 have these long shoots of pre-flowering expectation.  I saw this one from my bathroom window, gasped, and couldn’t wait to get outside to see it myself.

“Can words describe the fragrance of the very breath of spring?” ~ Neltje Blanchan

Butterflies are dancing around our new roses and our wildflower seeds are sprouting.  So spring has arrived despite the high temps.

“Spring has returned. The earth is like a child that knows poems.” ~ Rainer Maria Rilke

7 thoughts on “Spring has arrived “with a laugh and a shout”

  1. Pingback: Book Quotes of the Day: Spring « The Tiger's Eye

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

