Toddler art: our gratitude tree

I saw a cute leaf decorating project on The Artful Parent (check it out… it’s full of ideas on children’s art, creativity, crafts, cooking with kids, children’s literature, artful science experiments, nature, play, etc.) and wanted to try it.  

It can be difficult to make gratitude tangible for a toddler, so my daughter and I thought of lots of reasons we are thankful and wrote them down with metalic Sharpies on these leaves that we collected and Mod-Podged (is that a verb?).  Some of the words she came up with: “baby dolls, the grocery store, our kitties, school, Daddy, Mommy, love, airplanes, toys, family.”) I didn’t know what to do with the leaves so we drew a poster board tree and I used a hot glue gun to attach them.  Voila! Our gratitude tree!

I wish each of you a day of thankfulness and peace.

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts.