How motherhood is changing me

 

 

Parenthood is challenging.  Just when I think I’ve got one behavior under control, something changes.  From the awe of pregnancy to this very day, I am learning so much about myself by being a mother.

  • I am in not in control here.  There’s something much larger at work.  I have to change expectations and plans multiple times a day.  When I was pregnant, I was amazed that my body knew exactly what to do.  I was just along for the ride.
  • My intuition is usually right, only I never listened to it before.  I definitely tested it in the early days of motherhood.  My intuition told me not to go back to work, but I did; it told me no to daycare for my daughter, but I sent her.  I finally learned that I know this little girl better than anyone else in the world and I need to know myself just as well.
  • I can put up with a heck of a lot more than I ever thought I could.  I am a well of patience for this child only.
  • I feel connected to other parents because they know the highs and lows too.
  • My heart is so very vulnerable.  I treasure her so much.
  • I strive to be a better person even more now than ever before.  Since my daughter repeats every little thing I say, every movement, every action, I must be a very good role model.  I want to demonstrate kindness, patience, learning, and generosity.
  • I appreciate the value of time.  Since I lost almost all time for myself for a couple of years, I celebrate even just an hour of reading a favorite magazine at the end of a long day.
  • I am this girl’s champion.  I never wanted to draw attention to myself if I needed something, but now that this sweet girl is here, hand me the megaphone.
I'd love to hear your thoughts.

