Self-care

I spend most of my time caring for others and I often forget that my needs are important.  Let’s just say that I’ve got lots to learn about cultivating self-kindness, accepting where I am and identifying what I need at any given moment.  I’m definitely getting better at it, but still I usually push through my to-do list before allowing myself any sense of a break. 

On an ideal day, I’d sleep in, read in bed, leisurely browse through a bookstore, get a massage, work on creative projects the rest of the day, and then go out to dinner with my husband.  Maybe that day will happen someday, but in the meantime, how am I going to take care of myself today? I am going to try to remember to ask myself what it is I need, to check in with myself more often.  Perhaps I should treat myself as I’d treat a dear friend.  Right now I need a cup of tea… well, I’d be happy to get that for me!

2 thoughts on “Self-care

    • Thanks, Miriam. I waver sometimes because we aren’t taught to care for ourselves in our society so getting a manicure or even just taking a few minutes to stretch can feel self-indulgent. But there’s a big difference between that and taking care of yourself so you are happy and fulfilled and can then give to others, don’t you think?

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

